we love a powerful woman

before I go into my whole little spiel I just have to say the past couple of books and the feminism theme has been oh so exciting.  from the ripe age of six this little girl knew her worth.  she walked up to those people she said I be a prophet like yes queen that’s not very realistic but dream child.  anyways I really did enjoy this novel I like the graphic novel aspect that was really cool and for me it just kind of made the story easier to follow I know that makes me sound like an elementary schooler like oh Rylee needs pictures in her books for her to understand but it literally does help me understand. throughout the novel as she got older  she did kind of discover her self in her own beliefs which I think as a child is hard to do because most children just believe and repeat whatever their parents believe and it’s admirable how she managed to find herself especially in the time and in the world that she was living in where having your own personal beliefs and morals could literally have gotten her or her family arrested.  I think her boldness and just vigor to fight for what she believes in like standing up to the teachers and going out like her parents and demonstrating is super intriguing  for me.  now that I really think about it it kind of just shows the impact of a child, like if you think about civil rights movements it didn’t really attract any kind of attention until people saw children being beaten on the streets by the police if you really think about the impact that a child has on a society it’s it’s so different from any kind of adult or anything so I think children really have more power than they think.  the ability to see things through almost a clear lens of a child. adults have this perception of the world based on how they grew up and I think as a kid before you really seen the world and you get thrown in the situation like Marji did  you see it for what it really is and not for what it is based on your political beliefs because most children don’t  have those. I like how Marji writes this whole story and she’s writing as an adult through the eyes of a child and it kind of reminded me of atonement how briony writes this whole novel as we later find out as an adult but through the eyes of when she was a child. side note: i really just love the capturing of the girls in the veil and how they treated the veil.  a lot of the times you see stereotypically men fighting for some sort of power for me just my perspective on history,  when women want something to happen or something to change they banded together to make it happen. think of women’s suffrage rights in the US and in 1956 in South Africa the protest of women’s passes they banded together and fought for something they wanted and I think the power of a woman is seen a lot through Marji and her mother and how they just never gave in and were always very headstrong in their beliefs and what they wanted to change in their society.  they didn’t care who held the power it was a change they were looking for. there is nothing like a woman that’s all I got to say. they are complex and  smart and know exactly what they’re doing. I love that we’re reading novels with powerful women.  sorry this blog is kind of the place I had a lot of ideas about this book and they’re all scattered and I just had to get them all out. thank you for reading yet another ted talk 🙂

One thought on “we love a powerful woman”

Leave a Reply